Northwest Yacht Brokers Association
Committees

Grow Boating Committee

The Grow Boating Committee promotes the boating lifestyle and improves the boating experience to increase participation in boating to ultimately increase sales of marine products and services. The committee’s goal is to get people out on the water, particularly in the Pacific Northwest, to educate them about boats and boating and to introduce them to the joy of owning and operating a boat.

We are saddened to announce that due to the coronavirus pandemic and the lack of events, the Grow Boating Grant Program will be put on pause for 2021. Please check back next year! Wishing everyone a healthy and happy new year.

Katie Decker
NYBA Staff
Northwest Yacht Brokers Asssociation
katie@nwyachtbrokers.com
(206) 748-0012
Dan Krier
Committee Chair
Marine Servicenter
dan@marinesc.com
phone: (206) 323-2405

Government Affairs Committee

The Government Affairs committee promotes the growth, development and health of the marine industry through effective communication with our elected officials, development of strategic partnerships and direct lobbying efforts. The committee will proactively work on the identified legislative priorities of the Association and will serve as the Association’s central source of contact with public policy makers, community leaders and coalitions.

Kurt Kingman
Committee Chair
NW Yachtnet
kurt@nwyachtnet.com
phone: (360) 791-5333
Jim Hedrick
Lobbyist
H2 Government Relations
jim_hedrick@comcast.net
phone: (360) 789-4700

Ethics Committee

The ethics committee is responsible for upholding and maintaining ethical business practices amongst NYBA members. The committee hears disputes between members, complaints against brokers from the boat buying public and recommends solutions when possible. The committee is there to assist in setting up bind- ing arbitration procedures when appropriate. The chair reports directly to the Board of directors.

Art Kaplan
Co-Chair
LaConner Yacht Sales
yachts@cnw.com
phone: (360) 466-3300
Paul Groesbeck
Co-Chair
Irwin Yacht Sales
paul@irwinyachtsales.com
phone: (425) 829-3551

Boat Show Committee

The Boat Show Committee meets once a month to help plan and oversee the production of the Boats Afloat Show in September and the Seattle Boat Show on South Lake Union in January. The committee makes recommendations regarding dates, exhibitor rates, promotions, advertising and budgets to the Board of Directors.

Ben Johnson
Committee Chair
Hampton Yacht Group
ben@hamptonyachtgroup.com
phone: 206-632-5200

District Finder

Contact your representative to voice your opinion on key marine legislation
Search Now